For Z, Dairy’s a No-Go, but I can eat Wheat…

This was taken on Lil Z's second birthday. It was the first time he tried ice cream. He developed a hatred for ice cream for quite a while after this, so I bet it hurt his tummy.

This was taken on Lil Z’s second birthday. It was the first time he had tried ice cream. He developed a hatred for ice cream for quite a while after this, so I bet it hurt his tummy.

Last week I told you I was going to be tested for celiac disease because many endocrinologists now believe there is often a link between Thyroid diseases (I have Hashimoto’s Disease) and Celiac Disease. The good news is, it appears I don’t have celiac disease. I tested very low on the Celiac Panel (5 on a scale of 20). Excelsior!

For the bad news, it appears Lil Z has not outgrown his dairy intolerance like I had previously thought. Since taking him off dairy, he has been having more solid stools (as opposed to no solid stools!) and he told me his stomach doesn’t hurt anymore (he also asked in a very sad voice if that meant, he was “not allowed to have Cheetos anymore,” which made me feel terrible because Cheetos are his favorite food.

With that said, I feel like I need to keep Z and Manimal off dairy for another couple of week because they both suffered from some wicked viruses that caused gallons of vomit-poo to be expunged in the last week. Until they have been virus-free for several days, I cannot say with full confidence that they should avoid dairy. I’ll keep you updated!

Leave a Reply

