Bumps on a Rock & Bumps on a Stump

bumps on a rock

Bump on a Rock

bumps on a stump

Bumps on a Stump

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is a play on the great snack from my childhood “bumps on a log” made with celery, raisins and peanut butter. Unfortunately, celery is too hard for Manimal to chew, but I have found a fun solution he loves – and it’s gluten-free, corn-free and top-8 free to boot!

Finding fun, healthy, allergy-friendly snacks for little ones can be difficult. Also, because peanut butter is a no-no for my kids, I often have trouble getting them to eat protein during the day without busting out the leftover meat from the night before.

I love making this snack for Manimal – he loves that they are bite sized, and I love that they are healthy and safe for him (Lil Z likes all three ingredients, but won’t eat it unless it is “deconstructed” because he has aversions to mixing of foods… sigh).

Ingredients:

  • Sliced bananas (the stumps)
  • Rice Chex (the rocks)
  • Raisins (the bumps)
  • Sunflower seed butter (I have been using Sunbutter’s, and it is really good, but soybeans are roasted on the same line and I think it has been bothering Manimal… so I am on a quest to find a new version).

Do I really need to explain how to make it? Just look at the pics!

Manimal enjoying bumps on rocks

Manimal enjoys his bumps on rocks.

What are some allergy-friendly, kid-friendly snacks you make at your house?

3 thoughts on “Bumps on a Rock & Bumps on a Stump

  1. Dianty

    We went through a huge “ants on a log” phase and my kiddo loved them. I’m going have to try these too as I’m certain they will love them as well. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Top 8 Free Finds and the Sunflower Seed Butter Success | raisingapic

Leave a Reply

