How the Heck Do I Make This Baby Sleep? – Sleep Part I

Liz Z baby sleep

This was the only way I could get Lil Z to Sleep in the beginning. I would swaddle him, pop a pacifier in his mouth, and jiggle him. He would immediately wake up if I set him on his back, so he slept either in a bouncy seat, car seat or swing.

When Lil Z was born he barely slept, and he woke a lot. He napped very little, and was constantly fussy. I figured that is what newborns did. The doctor diagnosed him with acid reflux and put him on medication. But the sleeplessness continued. For weeks. Then months. It was hell, I’m not gonna lie. To top it all off, when he was awake, he was fussy and crying. He wouldn’t let me set him down. I remember calling my husband and begging him to come home early from work, just so I could get a break. He wouldn’t of course, because he didn’t want to look like a bad employee.

I had to hold back the bile (and my fist) when I met mothers who said things like, “my baby slept through the night at five weeks.” Like they had something to do with it. To this day, I still kind of want to punch something when someone talks about how well their newborns sleep.

But I digress. I read every book under the sun. I scoured the internet. How the heck do I make this baby sleep?! I didn’t even care about having him sleep the whole night – I just

wanted a good 3 or 4 hour stretch. My baby was waking every 45 minutes – all day and all night long.

What I figured out is this: Lil Z has celiac disease and protein intolerance (e.g. he was clinically allergic to the foods I was eating and was getting them in my milk). Once I went on an elimination diet and removed the “offending foods” from my diet, his acid reflux got much better. Pretty much overnight. But the night waking continued and poor napping continued. It took a while before I figured out how to get him to fall asleep on his own.

One thought on “How the Heck Do I Make This Baby Sleep? – Sleep Part I

  1. Pingback: The Big Guns – Teaching Your Baby to Fall Asleep and Sleep Longer | raisingapic

Leave a Reply

