Corn Tortillas – how do you make them taste good?

mission corn tortillaquick pork tacos  cinni chips

For the last several months, my niece Hannah has been having lots of stomach pain, and her smart mama (Melinda) wondered if perhaps she was gluten or dairy intolerant. She put my niece on a Gluten Free, dairy-free diet, and voila, pretty much overnight, my niece felt better.

Well, I saw that Hannah had been eating rice tortillas and I said to her mom that she could have corn tortillas because they are gluten-free. But my sister-in-law, who grew up in land-locked prairie said, “But they taste terrible. They are so dry.”

And it hit me. I had met several people from the mid-west who hated corn tortillas because they said they tasted terrible. They didn’t know they should be fried!

So, forgive me readers, if this seems like a dumb post, but if you want a good corn tortilla, you have to fry it to make it crispy. It then becomes AMAZING.

Instructions:

  • heat cast iron or heavy skillet on high heat (don’t use teflon – it gets too hot and can make toxic fumes when it gets too hot)
  • add a relatively light-tasting oil (I like canola, but corn is OK, too) to the pan and let it get hot for a few seconds.
  • Test to see if the oil is hot enough by dipping the end of the tortilla in the pan. If the oil bubbles and sizzles, it is ready. If it doesn’t bubble, it isn’t hot enough yet. if you have a thermometer, the oil should be between 350 and 380 degrees (I don’t have a thermometer, btw).
  • When the oil is ready, place the tortilla in the pan and turn down the heat to medium-high
  • If you are making a taco, place the ingredients on one side of the tortilla and fold the tortilla in half with a fork (make sure the tortilla is soft enough to bend but not fried hard hard).Pork tacos
  • Monitor that the oil doesn’t get too hot. If it starts to smoke, you have the heat too high, or you haven’t used enough oil.

It takes practice, but you’ll get the hang of it and soon be making awesome homemade tacos and tortilla chips!

2 thoughts on “Corn Tortillas – how do you make them taste good?

  1. Marlene Geary

    Thank you. Thank you *SO* much for posting this. You’ve just totally saved corn tortillas for me. I’ve fried flour tortillas many times for quesadillas, but I never thought to fry corn tortillas. I had no idea. I really, really, really appreciate this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

