"But…they taste like WHEAT pancakes!" Gluten-Free, Egg Free, Dairy Free Pancakes

I make pancakes – a lot. I love them. They are cheap and easy, and, way too delicious to live a life without them. when I discovered my son couldn’t have wheat… or dairy or eggs, I was really sad for him. Poor little guy will never be able to have a pancake for Saturday morning breakfast, I thought sadly. Sure, I know that there are several gluten-free foods out there, but I have tried many gluten-free foods, and to be frank, they often taste like swill. But no more. I discovered a recipe that is so similarly tasting to the wheat recipe I make from a Betty Crocker cook book, I am not sure anyone who ate them would be able to figure out they are gluten, egg and dairy free. Really. You have to try these. They are amazing.

I got the recipe from “Cookies for Everyone” by Leslie Hammond and Betsey Laakso (Mini-ficent Pancakes, p. 173). I made these a couple times, and changed the recipe slightly by adding more baking powder. The original recipe calls for 2 teaspoons of baking powder, but they end up being kind of chewy and not airy, like I enjoy my pancakes.

There are several ways you can make these pancakes (i.e. use white rice flour and cornstarch in place of brown rice flour and tapioca flour) but I only included the ingredients I used.

Ingredients:
1 cup brown rice flour
1 tbl sp honey
1 tbl sp baking powder (use featherweight if you have a corn allergy, or make your own)
1/3 cup tapioca flour
¾ cup rice milk
3 tbl spoons Canola oil
dash of salt

Preparations:
Mix all wet ingredients together with a whisk in a large bowl. Add the dry ingredients and mix with whisk. Pour some of the batter into a well heated and oiled skillet (high heat). When your pancake bubbles, flip it over and continue cooking. When pancake is golden on each side, remove from pan and place on a plate.

NOTE: After several minutes, these pancakes stick a bit to each other if piled on top of one another. Put a piece of wax paper in between each pancake if they are going to sit on a plate for awhile, or if you are putting them in the freezer or fridge to eat later.

When they look like this, they are ready to be flipped.

Posted by Picasa
Leave a Reply

