Why can’t your kid eat so many foods?

I get a little uncomfortable trying to explain why there are so many foods my son can’t eat. At this point in time we avoid eggs, nuts, dairy, soy, gluten, corn, and nitrates – these are foods that I know either for sure bother him, or I suspect bother him. He was tested for food allergies and Celiac disease (Celiac disease runs in my husband’s family) when he was around 7 months old. Little Z tested as “not allergic;” however, in the words of my son’s pediatrician, he is “clinically allergic.” I have latched onto the term “protein intolerant” because of the research I have done on allergies on my own (and I don’t mean intolerant to all proteins, just several).

Yes, this is a self-diagnosis, and I am sure it drives doctors everywhere nuts. But, if I had fully relied on the doctors, Little Z would have had surgery to tighten his esophagus due to uncontrollable and painful Gastro-Esophageal Reflux Disease (GERD) at 5 months. My son’s doctors have been wonderful, but it was either a mother’s instinct, or at least a mother’s absolute terror at the thought of having her baby undergo surgery, that caused me to try the Total Elimination Diet when he was 5 months old.

Our pediatrician finally referred us to a pediatric gastroenterologist, and we get to see him (or her) in early September of 2009. I am praying that we finally get some answers, and that Little Z’s “clinical allergies” are finally diagnosed – and that they are just that, and not symptoms of a more problematic underlying health issue.


This is a picture of my husband, Mike, holding Little Z
during one of his early “reflux episodes” as we used to call them.
Leave a Reply

